Winning a Nokia phone is great, if it works…

I couldn’t believe my luck. I had a lot of expectation when visiting the Mobile World Congress (MWC) in Barcelona this year. Winning a Nokia Lumia 800 wasn’t one of those expectations at all. It was great! It made me feel like this Windows Phone could be the best replacement for my old Sony Ericsson Xperia mini 10.

Lolly Nokia Popping

I won the phone because I was lucky to get a lollipop at the Nokia Booth, within the App Planet area at MWC. The lolly was packaged with a small carton. Inside the carton was a little note saying: “Congratulations, you’ve just won a Nokia Lumia 800!”. Unfortunately winning this phone turned out to be the first major disconnection between me and my friends ever since I went online with a mobile device for the first time, years ago.

“I needed a new one for a long time

                               so this is awesome!”

It’s great winning a phone. A big blonde cameraman pointed this huge TV-camera at my face (of which I have no idea where the video-material had gone) while a Nokia representative handed over the phone, asking me how this felt, having won a 600+ euro Nokia. “Great,” I replied. “I needed a new one for a long time so this is awesome!”
Two weeks after having configured the phone in my hotel room in Barcelona, importing my contacts and trying to figure out why the push-up notifications of Whatsapp didn’t work, my battery went down. I already noticed before, that the battery life didn’t last longer then a morning and midday, while using it for ordinary purposes. In short, I had to power it every time I got home after my job. So I got home one evening, connected my Lumia 800 to the charger and went to bed. The next day I woke up I tried booting it up. Nothing happened…

Google ‘Lumia battery troubles’

So I started to Google around, looking for ways to do a soft and hard reset. These options didn’t have any effect. During my ‘Google’ journey though, I found out I wasn’t the only one. If you’re interested, have a look at these Google search results to get an idea about the major problems Lumia 800 users run into.

Service

Eventually I ended up sending my phone to a repair center in The Netherlands. Nokia’s online (automatic) support service told me I had to send it to that address. A day after sending it though, I received a DM on Twitter from Nokia’s customer service. It said I had to send it to a different address and that I would receive an envelope to send it, while my Nokia was already on its way…

No battery
Two days later I got an email from the repair center, saying my battery was missing when receiving the phone. Let me tell you what, the design of this Nokia Lumia 800 doesn’t have a removable battery! When commenting on this throughout the email though, the repair center simply told me that wasn’t their concern but Nokia’s…!? Nokia ended up apologizing for this mistake in the end, but it’s a weird mistake in the end isn’t it?
Connecting people
Nokia made a promise once and truly kept it for some time. Now it seems they’re trying way too hard connecting people, losing sight of their goals and focus on user experience and hardware compatibility. Thanks to everything described above I was disconnected from people… Luckily I could retrieve an old phone later to get in touch with friends and colleagues. So the story continues. I’ve been in this circus for almost four weeks now and I wonder how much longer it will take. Till that time I’m stuck with my Xperia thingy and a lousy envelope…
It’s great winning a phone, as long as it works.
1 Comment

Filed under Experience, Personal

One response to “Winning a Nokia phone is great, if it works…

  1. Apple proved that working hardware, with working software, simply; WORKS. Shouldn’t be a hard thing for Nokia to do as well, instead they #fail.
    I’ve owned some nokia’s, hardware quality and software have always been a let-down. Solution, don’t buy their frickin’ phones!!!

Leave a Reply

